+1 Logo Home
About Us
Contact Us
Deborah Grabien photo Deborah Grabien

Deborah Grabien can claim a long personal acquaintance with the fleshpots—and quiet little towns—of Europe. She has lived and worked and hung out, from London to Geneva to Paris to Florence, with a few stops in between.

But home is where the heart is. Since her first look at the Bay Area, as a teenager during the peak of the City’s Haight-Ashbury years, she’s always come home to San Francisco, and in 1981, after spending some years in Europe, she came back to Northern California to stay.

Deborah was deeply involved in the Bay Area music scene from the end of the Haight-Ashbury heyday until the mid-1970s. Most of her friends have been trying to get her to write about those years—fictionalised, of course!—and, now that she’s comfortable with it, she’s doing just that, with the multi-book story of the JP Kinkaid mystery novels. After publishing four novels between 1989 and 1993, she took a decade away from writing, to really learn how to cook. That done, she picked up where she’d left off, with the five novels of her Haunted Ballads series being brought out by St. Martins Minotaur between 2003 and 2007. Still Life With Devils, a standalone thriller about a serial killer who may not be human, was released by Drollerie Press in December 2007.

Deborah’s been married to Nicholas Grabien since 1983. A San Francisco native and another member of the local music scene in its heyday, Nic is a bassist, while Deborah plays guitar. They share a passion for rescuing cats and finding them homes, and are both active members of several local feral cat rescue organisations. Deborah has a grown daughter, Joanna, who lives in LA.

These days, in between cat rescues and cookery, Deborah can generally be found listening to music, playing music on one of eleven guitars, hanging out with her musician friends, or writing fiction that deals with music, insofar as multiple sclerosis—she was diagnosed in 2002—will allow.

For more about Deborah, visit her website at deborahgrabien.com


    Plainsong - A Fable for the Millenium

The JP Kinkaid Chronicles
    Book #1 - Rock & Roll Never Forgets
    Book #2 - While My Guitar Gently Weeps
    Book #3 - London Calling
    Book #4 - Graceland
    Book #5 - Book of Days
    Book #6 - Uncle John's Band
    Book #7 - Dead Flowers
    Book #8 - Comfortably Numb

    Tales From the House Band Volume 1 - A Plus One Music Anthology
    Tales From the House Band Volume 2 - A Plus One Music Anthology

Copyright ©2013 by Plus One Press
Home  –   Privacy Policy and Terms  –   How to Order  –   Reseller Info  –   Library Info